Croatia defeat Slovakia; Netherlands draws with Northern Ireland

Emre Aşıkçı – November 17, 2019

ANKARA (Anadolu) – Germany, Netherlands, Austria and Croatia secured spots in the EURO 2020 finals following results in qualifying group matches Saturday.

Austria booked a ticket by defeating North Macedonia 2-1 at Ernst Happel Stadion as the team found goals from Stefan Lainer and David Alaba in Group G.

In group E, Croatia managed to beat Slovakia 3-1, while Nikola Vlasic, Bruno Petkovic and Ivan Perisic scoring one goal each.

Germany advanced to the finals by blanking Belarus 4-0, and the Netherlands got in despite playing to a scoreless draw with Northern Ireland, placing second spot in Group C.

Austria, Belgium, Croatia, Czech Republic, England, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Poland, Russia, Spain, Sweden, Turkey and Ukraine have so far qualified for EURO 2020.

Here are Saturday’s results:

– Group C

Germany – Belarus : 4-0

Northern Ireland – Netherlands : 0-0

– Group E

Azerbaijan – Wales : 0-2

Croatia – Slovakia : 3-1


– Group G

Slovenia – Latvia : 1-0

Austria – North Macedonia: 2-1

Israel – Poland : 1-2

– Group I

Cyprus – Scotland : 1-2

Russia – Belgium : 1-4

San Marino – Kazakhstan: 1-

Leave a Reply